2016 Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations--Call for Award Nomination

The Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations recognizes outstanding and influential research contributions to the foundations of quantum physics. The aim of the award is to raise awareness for the field of quantum foundations, and to draw attention to new and interesting achievements in this area without delay. It is awarded for the most significant publication in the foundations of quantum physics, theoretical or experimental, during one calendar year. Candidate publications must be published in a peer-reviewed journal. Other than that, papers from all areas in the foundations of quantum physics, and by authors of any background, will be eligible to receive the award.

The (inaugural) Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations for the year 2015 was awarded jointly to three publications by groups at the TU Delft (The Netherlands), the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Austria) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology NIST (USA) for simultaneously closing the locality and detection loopholes in Bell experiments, thereby corroborating quantum mechanics and ruling out theories that satisfy local causality.

For details on award rules, prize money and eligibility, please visit http://www.iqoqi-vienna.at/en/ehrfenfest-award/about/.

Nominations and self-nominations are to include a copy of the nominated publication and a short (2-3 paragraph) statement of the relevance of the contribution. In the case of single-author publications, the name and contact information of the author is to be given. In the case of multi-author publications, a representative author who will officially accept the Ehrenfest Award in person shall be named and his contact information will be included. Consent from all authors as to which author will serve as the representative for the publication shall be obtained by the nominator, and a short confirmation to that effect should be included with the nomination.

The 2016 selection committee will be:

Alain Aspect, Institut d'Optique, France
Miguel Navascu├ęs, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria
Marek Zukowski, University of Gdansk, Poland
Rob Spekkens, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Canada
Aephraim Steinberg, University of Toronto, Canada

Miguel Navascu├ęs will be coordinating the selection process at IQOQI-Vienna and is looking forward to receiving your nomination or self-nomination at the e-mail address miguel.navascues@univie.ac.at by 30 April 2017!